With a governor that is anti-choice and a mixed legislature, pro-choice rights are always at risk. Let’s take at what the current law says about abortion in New Hampshire.
In our state, second-trimester abortions are illegal, unless an independent physician can determine that a woman’s life is at risk. A physician who breaks the law may be held to 10 years in prison and/or $100,000 in fines. This law falls in line with the Federal Abortion ban, which overrules state bans and also prohibits abortion in the second trimester. Neither bans offer exceptions for a woman’s health.
Unlike other states, there are no current measures requiring biased counseling or mandatory waiting days. However, young women under the age of 18 must have parental or guidance consent before getting an abortion, although the mandate can be waived if the young woman’s life is in danger or she has received permission from a judge.
Our laws do indicate that state-funded assistance for healthcare will not cover abortions, unless a woman’s life is in danger or the pregnancy is a result of rape or incest. However, New Hampshire does have a program, State Plan Amendment, that provides increased access to family planning for low income families.
Lastly, New Hampshire law states that no one should knowingly enter or remain on a public sidewalk on sidewalk adjacent to the facility.
These laws do offer some protections on a woman’s right to choose, but more can and should be done.